FAUX News Shut-Up-A-Thon & Hour ONE thread!

originally posted over at the majority report radio blog

I’ve just returned from the anti-FAUX news demonstration. I’m working on editing and uploading the pictures, but if you want a preview you can head over to Am I Patriotic? and check out Kyle’s photo gallery.


It was a fun event – there were about 800-1000 people gathered in front of FAUX news corporate headquarters. The event was billed as a “Shut Up-A-Thon” – an ironic event inspired by OReilly’s tendency to cut the mic and yell “SHUT UP!” at his guests.

The police tactics at this event were “interesting”. We were all put in a protest pen and surrounded by police in full riot gear, some of whom were filming the event with digital video recorders. About fifteen minutes into the demonstration, Medea Benjamin and several other Code Pink members were handcuffed and put into a police van. It seemed to me that the police were ordered to arrest the “leaders” in the hopes that the demonstrators would disperse. It didn’t work.

Some of the chants included:
“SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP!”, “O-LIE-LLY”, “Shut the FOX up!”, “Who’s media? Our media!”, “Who’s airwaves? Our airwaves!” I think you get the idea. It was probably the the most fun event I’ve attended so far.

Now I’m at the Tank and the Majority Report crew is getting set up and ready for the show. I’ll post some pictures from the remote shortly, and as soon as I’m done shrinking my FAUX news demonstration pictures, I’ll update this post.

update: I’m going to open the threads tonight. Coming up in hour one:
Rep. Chris Bell(D-TX), here to talk about his ethics complaint against House Majority Leader Tom DeLay.

update: Check it out. Sam’s shoes are touched by God:

Here’s a pic of the live audience: